Developing 21st century accreditation standards for teaching hospitals: The Taiwan experience

Chung I. Huang, Cathy Wung, Che Ming Yang

研究成果: 雜誌貢獻文章同行評審

11 引文 斯高帕斯(Scopus)


Background. The purpose of this study is to establish teaching hospital accreditation standards anew with the hope that Taiwan's teaching hospitals can live up to the expectations of our society and ensure quality teaching. Methods. The development process lasted two years, 2005-2006, and was separated into three stages. The first stage centered on leadership meetings and consensus building, the second on drafting the new standards with expert focus groups, and the third on a pilot study and subsequent revision. Results. Our new teaching hospital accreditation standards have six categories and 95 standards as follows: educational resources (20 items), teaching and training plans and outcomes (42 items), research and results (9 items), development of clinical faculty and continuing education (8 items), academic exchanges and community education (8 items), and administration (8 items). Conclusions. The new standards have proven feasible and posed reasonable challenges in the pilot study. We hope the new standards will strengthen teaching and research, and improve the quality of hospital services at the same time.

期刊BMC Health Services Research
出版狀態已發佈 - 2009

ASJC Scopus subject areas

  • 健康政策


深入研究「Developing 21st century accreditation standards for teaching hospitals: The Taiwan experience」主題。共同形成了獨特的指紋。